Metropolitan Area Building & Construction Department (MABCD)

Board of Appeals of Plumbers and Gas Fitters Minutes August 28th 2019 Meeting

Present: Larry Dougherty, Ray Frederick, Seth Harrington, Beau Means, Andy Veatch.

Absent: Open positions of Mechanical Engineer and Master Plumber.

Staff: Jason Little and Chris Nordick MABCD, Justin Waggoner Sedgwick County Legal Department,

Billie Vines, Joe Loggins and Keith Stafford Wichita Public Works and Utilities.

Guests: Shaun Conway, Victor Tarpenning, Scotty Landers, Mike Wannow, Brian Rogers, Ron Means, Lonny Wright, Evan Lies,

Chairperson Beau Means called meeting to order.

Katie Asbury of the Sedgwick County Clerk's office administered the Oath of Office to Seth Harrington and Larry Dougherty for their reappointment to serve on this Board.

Seth Harrington moved to accept the minutes of the June 26^{th} Meeting. Second by Ray Frederick. Motion passed 5-0.

Beau Means read letter from Kim Mudd regarding her service as secretary to the Board.

Appeals Board members requested that meetings be recorded by an electronic device or method and request that a secretary other than the Chief Plumbing Inspector be present to take notes on the meetings.

Discussion of Variance request by Victor Tarpenning to be the Qualified Person for Bath Fitters of Wichita immediately while Poor Pappy's Plumbing open permits and contracts are resolved.

Motion to grant variance with restrictions: NO new permits are to be issued to Poor Pappy's Plumbing and open permits or contracts must be closed by January 31st 2020. Motion to grant by Andy Veatch. Second by Seth Harrington. Motion passed 5-0.

Presentation for September 13th Kansas Mechanical Trade Stakeholders Meeting by Lonny Wright.

Discussion, no action taken.

Discussion of 9 member Appeals Board effective date in October, no action taken.

Presentation of IPC permits tracking information, no action taken.

Discussion of Code Review Committee update. No progress to report.

Motion to pause code review activities until after new board members are appointed by Ray Frederick, Second by Andy Veatch. Motion passed 5-0.

Motion at adjourn by Andy Veatch, Second by Seth Harrington. Motion passed 5-0.